HOME‎ > ‎Untitled‎ > ‎

An Evening Under the Stars Gala to Benefit the Darien Arts Center

posted Jun 6, 2017, 10:30 AM by Darien Arts Center   [ updated Jun 6, 2017, 10:32 AM ]
The Darien Arts Center invites the community to support its first-ever gala fundraiser, An Evening Under the Stars, on Saturday, June 24th. The cocktail reception will take place from 6 to 9 p.m. in the DAC’s Weatherstone Studio and Garden. The benefit will feature live entertainment from Lew and Mary Green and Friends, as well as cocktails, hors d’oeuvres and a raffle. Sponsors of the event include Darien Rowayton Bank, Pear Tree Point School, Virtual Doorman, Dr. Rhett Drugge, as well as generous support from various local businesses, including Palmer’s, Wine Cellarage, Spiked Seltzer, and Chocolate Works. IBM is a matching donor and Moffly Media is media sponsor.

Proceeds from An Evening Under the Stars will benefit the DAC, which relies solely on donations, ticket sales, tuitions and grants for funding. Over 6,000 individuals participate in programs and attend performances at the DAC annually, with over 1000 students from toddlers to seniors taking classes in dance, visual arts, music, theatre, and martial arts. DAC outreach programs include partnerships with the Darien Library, Darien Nature Center, Atria, Maplewood, Darien After Schools Program and Overtime Athletics. Over twenty students with disabilities attend Artabilities and Danceabilities classes though a relationship with Star, Inc.

Financial support from the community is vital for the DAC to continue to provide its culturally dynamic events that encompass visual and performing arts, including Pic Darien, the annual smartphone photo contest, the unprecedented showcase of talent in Darien’s Got Talent, the Darien Art Show and Sale with hundreds of local artists showcasing their work, and much more.

Tickets for An Evening Under the Stars are $75 and are limited. For more information on the benefit or supporting the DAC, call Amy Allen, executive director at (203) 655-8683.

Pictured are gala committee members, left to right: Caitlin Whitacre, Jen Osborne, Alexandra Taylor, Marty Rainbow Hendrickson, Susan Willing, Rebecca Morrison and DAC Board Member Cristine Foster. Not pictured are: Anika Charron, Carole Claps, Jennifer Clemow, Katherine Crouse, Amanda Davenport, Elizabeth Hole, Kerrie Kelley, Kathryn Mann, Lesley Osborn, Sharon Parr, Mary Stockdale, and DAC Board Members Adrienne Kelly and Carlyle Upson.